“There are far far better things ahead than any we leave behind”

Last week I received an email congratulating me on my acceptance into Copenhagen University as an exchange student. Before receiving this email nothing was 100% official, it was all still in the land of ‘yeah maybe’. But now, its official! I’ve been accepted to go study overseas for 6 months, study in a nation I realistically know little about, a nation where I know (basically) no one, and one which will soon become more home. 

I always thought that once I received that email I would be jumping with joy and uncontrollably excited. Yet I wasn’t. I was more scared and frightened on what I had committed myself to. When something is just a possibility, it is a lot easier to brush aside all the realistic thoughts that ‘hey I won’t living with my family, surrounded by my friends’, ‘I won’t get to go to eat breakfast at the table I have eaten at for 19 years’, ‘yes I will be on the other side of the world for 7 months’. Sure all of this will be exciting, but I guess I just hadn’t fully realised what exchange involved. And I guess I still haven’t. Only going will grant me that.

I was talking to a friend this week and even though we were talking about something quite different, they said something that I think applies to everything in life. “If we don’t step into the unknown, we wouldn’t do anything”. I think this is so true. Quite often in our lives we are faced with decisions, which are really really scary. Decisions that we don’t know the outcome of. Decisions where it feels like we are stepping into a big black hole. Yet most of the time, it turns out ok. Actually most of the time, we are really glad we made those decisions. If we weren’t scared about a decision, then it wouldn’t be important right? 

This week I have made a fair few major decisions that still frighten me, but I know deep down, it will be worth it. Whilst my reasons to go on exchange have definitely changed since I first applied, I don’t doubt it will be worth it. I am excited to meet new people (once I get over that initial introduction – I hate introductions!). I’m excited to see a part of the world I have never seen and I am beyond excited to grow into my new found self. In the words of C.S Lewis; “There are far far better things ahead than any we leave behind”

Leave a Reply

