One week down and still alive!

One week down and I survived!! Quite surprising really considering a near bike crash, sunburn and continually getting lost, but I did it! One week in Copenhagen – and what a good one it was!

Upon arriving I was really quite daunted by the big city, where everyone spoke a different language. Sure everyone speaks English, but when you are walking down the supermarket aisle, everything is in Danish. This proves quite difficult when trying to buy food…I ended up guessing quite a bit what I was buying.

I spent the weekend feeling lost. I didn’t know anyone and wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself. I had just travelled 30+ hours to the other side of the world and the reality of it all was sinking in. I ended up spending the days walking around the city trying to find the interesting sites of København. This proved quite difficult considering I didn’t have a map, but it also meant I got to see things I wouldn’t have seen.

I spent all weekend wondering if I had made the right decision coming half way around the world to live and study. But then I went to church on Sunday night and knew everything would be fine. The church I went to (Hillsong Copenhagen) was amazing! It was a little different from my church at home, but also much the same. I think the thing that stood out to me was just how enthusiastic everyone was. I walked in (a little late because I of course got lost on the way), and found everyone dancing and singing at the top of their voices. It was a site, and feeling, I will never forget. I immediately felt like I belonged, despite not knowing anyone. It was then I knew that I had made the right decision, and that God did indeed have not just a plan for me, but an unbelievably amazing plan for me.

Danish class started on Monday. I was expecting a nice, simple course, which took things nice and slowly. Well this most definitely wasn’t the case. We jumped right into it, and it was intense and so hard!! Basically in Danish, you only read half the letters written in a word. I am however surprised by just how much Danish I have learnt in one week. It is crazy! By the end of the week we could read an article on immigrants in Denmark, and it was a good page long. If I think back to when I learnt Japanese, it took us probably 6 months to a year to be able to read that much Japanese. Can’t wait to see how much I know after 6 months of learning Danish! Today I even asked someone something in Danish, and not only did they reply in Danish (yay my accent mustn’t be too bad), but I understood their reply.

If you would like to hear more about my travels and where I go, feel free to check out my ‘travel blog’ here

orangepippy

Leave a Reply

